Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training (KS•CPOST)

Commission Meeting Minutes
Held at KS-CPOST – 1999 N. Amidon, Ste. 350
Wichita, KS
August 2, 2018
2:00 pm

Attendees:

KS•CPOST Members Present	KS•CPOST Staff
Commissioner Herman Jones	Gary Steed, Executive Director
Commissioner Richard Powell	Michelle Meier, Counsel
Capt. Jimmie Atkinson, KHP Designee	Rose Ann Ohmart, Sr. Administrative Assistant
	KLETC Staff
	Darin Beck, Executive Director
	Ron Gould, Assistant Director
	T.K. Bridges, Instructor

The public KS-CPOST Curriculum Committee meeting was held via teleconference and was called to order by KS-CPOST Director Gary Steed with a roll call of commissioners and the KHP designee in attendance as listed above. Also listed are the KS-CPOST and KLETC staff in attendance.

A motion (2018 CC 01) was made by Commissioner Powell to nominate Capt. Jimmie Atkinson as Chair of the Curriculum Committee. The motion was seconded by Commission Jones and passed unanimously.

After KLETC Assistant Director Ron Gould's brief explanation of the New Basic Training Firearms Qualification Course, Capt. Atkinson made a motion (2018 CC 02) that the Curriculum Committee declines to exercise its statutory authority to direct any changes or modifications to the director of police training's determination to change the Basic Training Firearms Qualification Course of Fire to the current Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training Qualification Course of Fire, effective for any basic training class commencing on or after August 15, 2018, or for any class currently in session at the discretion of the academy director/commander nominate. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 2:15 pm.